Webinar: Virtual Ecosystem Scenario Viewer

This upcoming webinar featuring speakers from NOAA will explore the uses for the new Virtual Ecosystem Scenario Viewer tool in illustrating the responses of virtual marine ecosystems to a range of living marine resource management scenarios. Webinar participants will get a sense of how to more effectively apply models in their own marine resource management work, and how this tool can help with making long-term decisions based on this data.

This free webinar will take place Tuesday, June 16th at 2:00 PM ET.

Register here.

Date published: 2020/05/28

Virtual Ecosystem Scenario Viewer (VES-V): A new tool for visualizing marine ecosystem models

Event Date: 

Tuesday, June 16 at 2pm US EDT / 11am US PDT / 6pm UTC

Ecosystem models can help explore the tradeoffs inherent in natural resource management decisions. However, the complexity that makes the models robust can also limit the ability of many audiences to understand and use the information provided. A new tool Virtual Ecosystem Scenario Viewer (VES-V) helps to address this problem by illustrating the responses of virtual marine ecosystems to a range of living marine resource management scenarios. These visualizations can help diverse audiences see the potential for applying models in their own marine resource management work and can help facilitate stakeholder engagement and input when exploring future tradeoff scenarios in marine resources management decision making. VES-V is designed to handle a wide range of model outputs and data. This webinar will provide an overview of VES-V and provide a forum for discussing a variety of applications for the tool.

Presented by: Isaac Kaplan and Howard Townsend of NOAA

OCTOsponsors

Co-sponsors: OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

Register here.