Advice on a Master's project

Hi all,

I’m posting here to ask for a some advice. Sorry in advance for the long post.

I’m currently studying for an integrated masters in Electrical and Information Engineering at the University of Cambridge. I’ve been lucky that my supervisor has been very open with collaborating with me to design my final year masters project. I’m really interested in conservation and biodiversity monitoring and would love to design a project around this. Unfortunately, though, the engineering department hasn’t ever done a project in this area! The project doesn’t have to break the internet from my point of view, personally I’d like to spend my year working in this field and learning something really useful, rather than researching hardcore engineering.

My supervisor is very interdisciplinary and knowledgeable in product development and we are both trying to learn the current issues in conservation. I have been reading papers and trying to get a lay of the land. We are thinking that acoustic monitoring seems like an interesting area that could provide a project that is attainable given the time frame of the Master's project as well as "technical" enough to be considered an engineering Master’s. My experience is in analogue and digital electronics, some processor coding and then more experience in signal processing, inference and ML.

I’m trying to contact knowledgable people outside the engineering faculty to help with generating ideas / bring some expertise to the process.  Currently we are considering ideas of:

1. Localisation of sound (in 2D or 3D).